I'm finally here!

Home Forums Introductions I'm finally here!

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Shannon Franzway
      Participant

Hi everyone, I’m Shannon. This is my 6th subject in the MIT (LIS) course, my official halfway point is the end of this semester and I will be rather proud of myself!  I’m studying externally in a very slow fashion – I started in 2013 and according to my study plan, I will plod along until 2017.  Whilst it would be nice to finish faster, I have 2 little ladies (aged 4 and 1, one of whom is currently sleeping in my lap) who keep me out of mischief and I work part time and I have a partner and I have plenty of friends and extended family that I always think it would be nice to see more of.

I completed my undergrad degree in Business at QUT at a time when standard computing subjects required DOS commands.  I travelled and lived overseas for a number of years before coming back home to get a “real” job, spending the next 10 years in marketing and communications roles.  My jobs have been pretty technology/digital focused and so my interest in the information profession sits pretty squarely with technology and how this impacts the management of the ever-growing amounts of information and data in our lives.  I have an interest in academic and special libraries but keeping a pretty close eye on corporate information roles that are currently developing.  Maybe my ideal job doesn’t exist yet?!?!?

Superpower?  I have an uncanny knack for recalling entirely useless, but often entertaining, tidbits of information.  Or perhaps the entertainment is in the telling?  Anyway, I love storytelling, both listening and doing.  My favourite part of being a parent is reading books to my kids and I hope to instil my love of books in them, not just for relaxation and entertainment but always searching for knowledge and learning.