Week 13: Product Review – Pop Culture

Home Forums Student forums Robynne Week 13: Product Review – Pop Culture

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author

Springtime! It was with a skip in my step that I headed over to Southbank to road-test Arts Queensland‘s new app, “The Culturalist”.

On a bright and breezy Sunday morning, armed with my smart phone and some happy springtime attitude, this brand new app promised to let me playlist my cultural experiences. Whatever that meant! It sounded good.

The purpose of the app is to provide you with tools for exploring Brisbane’s Cultural Precinct, showcasing itineraries and activities. It seemed to me this was a good idea – I have now spent a few years in Brisbane but my experiences of the precinct have been patchy. A guided tour in my pocket seemed like an excellent idea.

The Culturalist App
      Image: The Culturalist 2015

With a glorious cloud of blue jacaranda flowers billowing around me, I was lured by the jacarandas in the app’s “Popular” playlist advertising QAGOMA’s Australian Collection.

The three buttons at the foot of the page were handy – I checked the location of the exhibition on the map and was given a route to navigate to QAGOMA. A moment was spent on the website checking out the exhibition blurb. But the worth of the app proved itself when it gave me a message saying the usual exhibition was unavailable, sort of, due to an intervention by a major installation by indigenous artist Brook Andrew. Interesting! I’d like to have been able to tap on that message to see a preview, but I made my way to QAGOMA, and I’m glad I did.

QAGOMA: Installation of artist Brook Adams work

Image: QAGOMA, installtion of artist Brook Andrew’s work