Trend reflection – information literacy

Home Forums Student forums Sarah Trend reflection – information literacy

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Sarah Ross
      Participant

When I was a junior lawyer, one of the jobs you had to do was research and find law cases.  Early on in my training, we were sent on a one-day training course in Lexus (a legal database), given a handbook and I made copious notes.  I had no cause to use Lexus for several months and then I was asked to do some research.  I grabbed my handbook and notes and set off to the library (unstaffed) to use Lexus.  I totally failed to find one relevant case.  The handbook and my notes made no sense.  I tried again and again with the same result.  I later learned that someone else managed to find about 11 relevant cases.

Locked computer from google images

This rather shameful anecdote got me thinking about the trends in information literacy instruction as outlined by Evans et al, Chapter 4.  Cheryl Youse points out that just because information is available, it does not mean it is easier to obtain.  There is a need to learn effective search strategies.  Evans et al divide the ways of learning into informal and formal instruction.  Formal instruction is what I experienced.  In its way it was both an orientation and a virtual tour, followed by a classroom presentation with a little hands-on instruction.  It had all the features of what Evans et al describe as a One-Shot Lecture.  My course also demonstrated one of the drawbacks noted by Evans et al – using the time to cram in as much information as is possible.

Unlock key from google images