Hi, I'm Paola

Home Forums Introductions Hi, I'm Paola

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Paola Beretta
      Participant

Hello there dear colleagues!

It’s a pleasure to meet you all and I’m very excited about working with you in this unit. This is my second semester of the MIS (Information Management and Library Practice).

I think that programs and services is my ‘thing’ as I have a background in visitor services and public programs in museums and galleries. When I was a young teenager I was very shy, a bit angry with the world and books were a huge comfort and companions to my imaginative life. I had all my books neatly catalogued on index cards that I kept in a wooden box. I was a librarian then and didn’t know! I am also an avid crafter (sewing, paper mache, mixed media, collage) and love making things by hand, which is essential to my keep my hyperactive mind functional.

I was born in Brazil, but have been an Aussie for more than 20 years and now I have family in Brazil, Australia and Canada. At home is me and my partner (who is also studying, finishing his masters) so we worked out some good strategies to keep us sane, cook, do the washing, study, work and have a little spare time together. We have no kids, but I’m an auntie to two kids who live in Canada. I’m the virtual auntie who reads stories online and does ‘show and tell’ about arts and crafts with my nephews.