Hi, I'm Michele

Home Forums Introductions Hi, I'm Michele

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Michele Smith
      Participant

The Basics:  I’m Michele.  I live in sunny Yeppoon in Central Queensland.  I am married (for the second time), with 6 children; 3 who have flown the nest, and 3 who still live at home.  In my day job I am a speech pathologist, working with children and adults with disabilities.  I have been working as a speechie for about 15 years, and felt it was time for a change, hence the decision to study to become a librarian.

I am in my second semester of the MIS(LIP), studying online, 2 subjects per semester.  I imagine myself working in a public library when I finish my studies, but I would also be happy working at the local university, or in fact, anywhere I could get a job as an information professional.  I’m not too sure what job opportunities will be like up here.

Superhero Superpower: People are often astonished at the idea that anyone has 6 children these days, so I sometimes get called “Supermum” and “super-organised”; but I think my real superpower is being able to find lost items.  I am really good at this.  When asked, “Mum, where is my ____?” I can usually find the requested item, and will often return the item with a helpful piece of advice such as, “You know, if you put it back where it goes when you’re finished with it, you will always be able to find it again.”  This advice, whilst helpful, is not always heeded.

If I could choose a superpower, it would definitely be to have the ability to clone myself.  I would have “Work Michele”, “Study Michele”, “Mum Michele”, “Fitness Michele” and “Leisure Michele”.  Then I would have enough time to do a good job at everything.

Jill Byrne
      Participant