G'day

Home Forums Introductions G'day

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Luke Mysliwy
      Participant

My name is Luke. I have just started in this course this semester and am looking forward to the challenge of Uni again after 9 years! I completed a Bachelor of Arts (Media Production & International Relations) between 2003 & 2006. I have a pretty varied history of occupations, including retail, hospitality, sales, various office jobs (call centres and the like), event management and media.The one constant in all that time has been the band I play in (we are called Jack Flash and play Folk/Punk. Bit like Redgum, The Pogues, Flogging Molly style thing). Two years ago I landed a job with Brisbane City Council as a Library Assistant (I work at Indooroopilly library, come and say hi), and I love it!

The reason I have chosen to start this degree is because having found a career I enjoy, I would like to make myself more knowledgeable and proficient in my job, and widen the possibilities for future roles.

What kind of library or information organisation you see yourself working in when you graduate?

weeeeeell I already work in a public library. I can see myself staying in this job (or something similar) for a good while yet, but since I don’t expect to graduate for another 4 years (I am studying part time), I may well be ready to try something else. One of the main things I hope to learn in this course is more about the various types of libraries there are, and the type of work I could expect to do in them. Perhaps then I can choose the ideal type of organisation to work for.

What do you think your superpower is? What are you really good at?