Week 3: Reference

Home Forums Student forums Lisa Week 3: Reference

• This topic has 1 voice and 0 replies.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      Lisa Schofeld
      Participant

I started this activity by thinking through my past experiences with reference librarians. When I first went to uni back in 1995 I didn’t even have an email account and the web was not predominate in my day to day activities both as a student and in my personal life. My experience at the Uni library was fairly positive. I was a language student and more often looking for audio/video resources than physical books. The library staff were always very efficient and very friendly helping me to find a particular audio tape and sometimes it could be tricky as it was in a less used section of the library so sometimes particular tapes were difficult to locate. Generally if I can’t find something in the catalogue I will find a librarian to ask but I must admit I never gave much thought to their particular job description. Later on I went back to uni via distance education, the internet was now a fixture in my daily undertakings and became my sole tool for finding information. As a distance student at Charles Sturt Uni and University of New England I would often email the library staff via their website to request photo copies of particular chapters of books only available in hard copy. I would have to pay the 20c per page fee and postage via direct deposit then wait 1-2 weeks for the information to arrive in the mail. This was not convenient at all as 2 weeks is a long time to wait particularly when you have an assignment looming. I also used to visit the State Library of New South Wales and this was an entirely different experience and still run in a very old fashioned way. If you found a book in the catalogue that you wanted to look at you would take one of the carbon backed forms to fill in with the books name and dewy numbers then hand it to the reference librarian. Then you would sit and wa