Week 13 – Pop culture twitter chat champion

Home Forums Student forums Stacey Week 13 – Pop culture twitter chat champion

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Stacey Larner

The culture and pop culture twitter chat was the last of the semester, and I was one of the chat champions. It was fast-paced, lively and thought provoking. One of the key messages I took away from the twitter chat was that regardless of my personal preference as a librarian, my opinions and taste shouldn’t dictate what kinds of popular culture the library engages with. The other message I took away was that what is and isn’t pop culture can become incredibly confusing.

Q1

The conversation began with a general agreement that libraries could help the public connect with the culture of their own time and times past, could help creative people exhibit their work, could be inclusive of the culture of marginalised communities (specifically where there is a divide between “high” and “low” art). Programming was a recurrent theme.

Q2

This question triggered some interesting discussion around what exactly pop culture was. I made the argument that mainstream culture and pop culture weren’t necessarily the same. NSteer said that geek/gamer/indie culture WAS mainstream these days, and Robynne asked if the point was, though, that they were one and the same? The Librarian Idol pointed to subcultures such as fan-fic as examples of non-mainstream pop culture. So while “nerdy” things are becoming more mainstream, there are still elements of pop culture that are decidedly not mainstream. Which lead to…

Q3

Trends! We ran the gamut from selfies to zombies to youtube to pinterest to YA. I mentioned gamification, makerspaces and mashups as trends libraries could capitalise on. There was some amusing discussion on libraries teaching patrons how to use dating sites. This discussion between Rae and Bodie Van Den Berg lead quite naturally to my question, which was:

Q4Q4